Things that (always) make me worse

A couple of days ago inspired by Matt Haig’s book, Reasons to Stay Alive, I posted a list of ‘Things that (sometimes) make me feel better.’ So today I thought I’d post part 2 – Things that (always) make me feel worse:

Lack of sleep

Waking up at 4am

Eating too much sugar

Watching too much TV

Too much time alone

Making myself too busy

Feeling ignored, abandoned or not seen

Comparing

Putting pressure on myself

Too much travel or driving

The darkness in Winter

Christmas

Beating myself up

Not cleaning my flat

The news

Spending too long on my phone

Spending too much time around friends with children

Just writing this list now has made me see how so many of the things on it involve too much or not enough of something. It’s not that these things on their own are necessarily bad – it’s about balance. At least having some awareness of the things that do and don’t help me means I can try to find the right balance for me.

 

5 thoughts on “Things that (always) make me worse

Leave a comment